Falls Board decides to not have February primary election

Jan. 10, 2014

The Menomonee Falls Village Board on Thursday unanimously voted to not have a primary election Feb. 18 for Seats No. 1 and No. 2, opting instead to put all the candidates on the April 1 ballot.

The board opted to only have an April election in an effort to save money, according to village officials.

There are three seats open on the Village Board. Michael McDonald, Katie Kress and Chris Rolenc are in the running for Seat No. one. This seat is currently held by Sharon Ellis, who did not file for re-election.

Kevel Anderson, Timothy Newman and Christopher Smolik are running for Seat No. 2. This seat is currently vacant as it was held by James Jeskewitz, who passed away in November. Joseph Helm was the only person to file for Seat No. three, which currently belongs to Dennis Farrell. Farrell did not file candidacy.

The cost of a primary election was estimated to be $30,000, according to Menomonee Falls Village Manager Mark Fitzgerald. The board, he said, decided they don't want to pay that cost, and instead opted to put everyone's name on the April first ballot.

Municipalities have three days after the nomination papers are due to decide if they are going to have a primary. The deadline to file was 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Most Popular


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries