Village, school board seats open in spring in Germantown, Menomonee Falls

Candidates can start gathering signatures on Saturday

Nov. 27, 2012

Germantown - Germantown and Menomonee Falls residents wishing to run for an open spot on the village board or school board can start gathering signatures to declare their candidacy starting Saturday for the spring 2013 election.

By state law, candidates may not circulate nomination forms and solicit signatures before Dec. 1.

The deadline to file is 5 p.m. Jan. 2. Should more than two candidates file for an open seat, there will be a primary election Feb. 19. The spring election is April 2.

Several seats are up for election on both the Germantown Village Board and Menomonee Falls Village Board.

Germantown Village president Dean Wolter's term ends in April. The District 2 trustee position is also open.

District 2 trustee Shane Daniels was appointed in July by the Village Board to serve the remainder of Daniel Wing's term, who resigned from the board. The term expires in 2013.

Trustees and the president serve three-year terms. Trustees receive $5,500 a year and the president receives $8,000 annually.

Filing papers for trustee positions will be available at Village Hall, W17001 Mequon Road.

Three seats are up for election on the Menomonee Falls Village Board: seat four, currently held by Michael McDonald, seat five, held by Jeff Steliga, and seat six, held by Steve Raymonds.

Falls trustees serve three-year terms and receive $5,500 annually.

After a contentious spring election in 2012 for the Germantown School Board sparked by Gov. Scott Walker's Budget Repair Bill, three seats are open in the spring 2013 election: seat two, held by Bruce Warnimont, seat six, held by Michael Loth, and seat four, held by Diana Kline.

All three positions are three-year terms. Board members receive $4,000 annually.

Germantown School Board filing papers can be picked up at district offices, W13840 Donges Bay Road.

Three Menomonee Falls School Board members' terms expire in spring 2013, including Lori Blodorn, Faith VanderHorst and Scott Ternes. The School Board seats are for a three-year term.

Board members are paid $5,000 annually.

Filing papers for Menomonee Falls School Board can be picked up at the district office, located in Village Hall, N8480 Pilgrim Road. Filing papers for the Village Board can be picked up at the clerk's services office, also located in Village Hall.

Village halls and school district offices will be closed Dec. 24 and 25 and Jan. 1 for the holiday, but will be open Dec. 26-28. Menomonee Falls Village Hall will be open Dec. 31; however, Germantown Village Hall and the School District will be closed that day and will reopen Jan. 2 for the final day of filing.

Most Popular


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries